Pouring Holy Water on Strange Fire 1.2 is now out!

(For those who have stumbled upon this post, this post is part of a series.  Here is part 1.  Here is part 2, part 3, and here is a modified part 3 on the Cripplegate, and you’re reading part 4.)

 

Who says blogging doesn’t pay?

I do…

empty wallet

…but as many of my commenters will tell you, I’m sometimes wrong (though not an idiot).

Blogging doesn’t usually pay, but sometimes it does have a payoff or two.  In this instance, my review of Frank Viola’s Pouring Holy Water on Strange Fire has resulted in some welcome modifications to the book.  The fourth chapter has been edited and an appendix has been added, both of which clarify the big issue I had with that chapter (lack of clarity and the appearance of misrepresentation).

You can read my original review here.

You can buy the new version of the book here.

Frank Viola has been a good sport about this all, and I wanted to publicly acknowledge his willingness to recognize problems and make appropriate changes.  We’re not in total agreement on the issues, but he has earned some of my respect.

Well done!

Until Next Time,

Lyndon “giving kudos where due” Unger

kudos

7 thoughts on “Pouring Holy Water on Strange Fire 1.2 is now out!

  1. I’m sorry, and I am sure he will take this as “judging” his motives, but if he had any sense of honesty, he would have made that appendix readily available on either of his two blogs. Instead, he just quietly republishes, pretending there wasn’t any serious problem with his research.

    Did he send you an update of what he wrote? Curious to see how his changes read now.

  2. I’m glad that he’s willing to make modification to his book in light of your posts.
    By the way, I thought that permanent marker robbery disguise is really wild…how do you even find such things and somehow connect them here? LOL

  3. Pingback: Evaluating Holy Water Part 1 – Chapters 1 & 2 | Watch Your Life and Doctrine Closely...

  4. Pingback: Evaluating Holy Water Part 2 – Chapter 3 | Watch Your Life and Doctrine Closely...

  5. Pingback: Evaluating Holy Water Part 3 – Chapter 4 | Watch Your Life and Doctrine Closely...

Share your thoughts