Team Pyro weighs in on Contemplative Prayer…

Yup.  Finally.

In case some people have wondered if I’ve been lightening up on speaking out against the problems of certain forms of contemplative spirituality popping up in certain Mennonite Brethren (and non Mennonite Brethren) churches, I figured that I’d toss up a link to Phil Johnson’s latest post over at Team Pyro.

For those of you that don’t know Phil Johnson or Team Pyro, Phil is the director of Grace to You (the media ministry of pastor John MacArthur) and John MacArthur’s book editor for almost 30 years now.  He has been pastoring the Gracelife group at Grace Community Church since before I was in high school, and runs the Spurgeon Archive, being one of the world’s foremost authorities on Charles Spurgeon.

Anyway, where I toss punches, Phil drops bombs.  Phil posted a link to this e-book, entitled “From Mysticism to the Gospel: The Story of the Reformation within the Eastern Orthodox Church and Why Contemplative prayer is a sign of apostasy among evangelicals

That’s right.  Apostasy.

If anything, Phil doesn’t beat around the bush…

…heck.  I don’t think Phil’s ever even seen the bush.

Sound interesting?

I don’t know about you, but something with such a long title is either crazy or fantastic.  Either way, it should get people talking.

If you’re into the contemplative prayer/mysticism stuff, I’d encourage you to go over to Team Pyro and let them know what you think.  That place is always bustling with heated opinions on all sides and I’m sure they’d love to hear from you.   Dialogue is how we grow and learn, right?

Until Next Time,

Lyndon “Get RID of these candles and that stinking incense!” Unger

Share your thoughts