Quick Prayer Update…

UPdate

It’s been a while since I made my health struggles known.  I first announced my struggles with Hepatitis, then gave an update, and another, and another.  In this whole process, the updates have not come quickly or frequently simply because this has been a symphony of confusion and a rather gigantic waiting game.  I’ll give an update as best I can for everyone (knowing that some of you are probably wondering what in the world has happened to me):

1.  Praise the Lord I’m feeling better.  My energy levels are returning and my jaundice is visually gone (meaning I’m no longer yellow).  I’m not having as much trouble sleeping as I did before and the one drug I’m on has kept my body from retaining much water (i.e. I still have ankles).  I’m able to eat without struggle now (my nausea has subsided for the most part) and I’m generally bouncing back.

The Lord has been good; my liver clearly isn’t failing and I’m physically not as bad as I definitely could be.

2.  I’m feeling better but my doctor is still watching my blood work numbers, meaning that my blood work is the judge of whether I’m actually doing better.  My bilirubin levels are still dropping, but I’m not at the level I need to be in order to get on my next round of treatment.  Please pray for me; pray that my blood work gets to where the numbers need to be and pray that I don’t have another “incident” (i.e. get a secondary infection) that basically does this:

Pat Healy vs Maximo Blanco

3.  I’m hopefully a month away from starting my next round of treatment, and I’m still uncertain if the whole regime of treatment will be covered.  I’ve got different answers from everyone I talk to and nobody will give me anything in writing except for highly cryptic letters chalked full of caveats.  The drugs will cost around $90,000 and I may have $50,000 of coverage from my health insurance provider or I may have $1,000,000 worth of coverage: I’ve been told both answers.  Obviously, getting half way through the treatment and being asked to cough up the money for the other half will be rather inconvenient.  Please pray that everything comes through with my health insurance and there are no surprises.

4.  Also, please pray for my wife.  Jennifer has been having a rather hard go of things for the past 2 years, and these last 3 months have been overly hard on her.  She’s had to endure so terribly much with me and our 2 kids (including the birth of our second), and I’ve not been much of a help for around half that time (as I’ve been quite “not-myself” for around 12 months of that time).  She’s been having trouble sleeping, having trouble finding energy to do things and having trouble dealing with all the various challenges each day brings her.  I am so thankful for her and will ask you to remember her (and our two kids) in your prayers.  In being sick for the last 2 years and this whole situation hasn’t exactly been an easy one for her to bear…

piano drag

My most sincere thanks go out to all the thousands of people, all over the world, that I’ve learned are praying for us.  Your prayers have been certainly felt in our home and we covet them greatly over this final stretch.

I’m going to sign off now and go play with my son (and keep him quiet) while Jen and our little daughter both have a much-needed nap.

Until Next Time,

Lyndon “keep on keeping on” Unger

10 thoughts on “Quick Prayer Update…

  1. About 2 hours ago I was gonna drop you an inbox asking how things were and I got an emergency call.
    Praise God for for what appears at least to be good news!! And yes. Thank you Jesus for giving our brother a godly helper who is most suitable to him indeed!!! The Lord will give you opportunities to return this love to her in full Lyndon. 🙂

  2. I’m so thankful to hear things are getting better. Jen and the children will also be in my prayers for you. The Lord is SO good to us, brother. Peace to you and your family.

  3. I’m really happy things appear to be improving for you Lyndon. Keep us posted with your blood work. I pray that the whole treatment gets covered by your insurance. I was always told Canadians get free health coverage, is that untrue? 90k seem like a ton of money to me. I sometimes wonder what factors come into play in deciding the costs of such things.

    Are you on a special diet for your liver? I tend to be somewhat of naturopath when it comes to my health (though I’ve never had any really serious problems aside from my lower gut issues) but from my reading I found there are lots of good ways to help your liver with various foods. I’m not trying to give alternatives, but believe it’s always beneficial to be diligent in doing what we can to ease the strain on our bodies through whatever more natural means we have available. A good liver cleansing diet might help your numbers (but I am certainly no doctor). Also avoiding things that place extra strain on your liver like sugar, too much salt, certain preservatives etc.

    I honestly try to eat 1 or 2 garlic cloves everyday and drink a short glass of water mixed with a couple teaspoons of raw Bragg Apple Cider Vinegar (the vinegar drink I try to take 30 minutes before I have dinner). Also I eat a good green salad (usually spinach) twice a week with an olive oil / apple cider vinegar dressing I whip up myself in less than a minute. Its not as tasty as ranch but i just tell myself I don’t eat it for pleasure, but for my health and for my family, that I will be a Husband/Father for years to come. The apple cider vinegar drink might not be safe in your condition (as it’s more concentrated) so ask your doctor, but I would confidently assume working ACV into your diet through other various means is just good wholesome nutritional advice.

    I know that your condition is much more serious than the abuse I’ve done to my body is the past, but I thought it could still be helpful to work in those things you are able to do (and are affordable) that they may work in tandem with what the doctor has you doing. It couldn’t hurt anyways.

    http://www.globalhealingcenter.com/natural-health/liver-cleanse-foods/

    Continuing to pray for you and your family brother Lyndon.
    God speed!

    -Shaun

  4. Praying for you, your precious family, and your ministry to others…May the LORD bless you and yours to mustering strength in times of weakness.

  5. I know you may cringe at this Lyndon :). But this is my prayer for your whole family.
    I will repay you for the years the locusts have eaten—Joel 2:25.

    Love you guys and love from Lisa

  6. Remaining in prayer for you and yours.

    The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, My God, my rock, in whom I take refuge; My shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. – Psalm 18:2

  7. Pingback: A Second Call for Prayer | Watch Your Life and Doctrine Closely…

Share your thoughts

