A Tweet of a post on a subject that’s on my mind…

I’m preparing a 2 week lesson on the Doctrine of Scripture and Introduction to Scripture, and I’m struggling to pound out the amount of work needed to make things helpful and yet concise (not to mention that we’re still working on getting our little ones to sleep through the night for more than one night in a row).

Image

As I was pounding through a few stacks of books and digging through the scriptures, I ran across a passage that made me pause and reflect for a second:

Your eyes saw my unformed substance;
in your book were written, every one of them,
    the days that were formed for me,
    when as yet there was none of them. – Psalm 139:16

I’ve read Psalm 139 numerous times, but vs. 16 grabbed me for the first time with the phrase “unformed substance”.  I have known verse 13 for many years, which says “you knitted me together in my mother’s womb”, and I’ve known for a long time that all infants are assembled/crafted together in the mother’s womb by God.  That’s not news to anyone who has read the scriptures with any sort of desire to understand what the scripture actually says about the personhood of the unborn, the divine opinion of motherhood, etc.

Also, I’ve remembered the next part of verse 16 that informs me that every one of the days of my life were planned out in writing beforehand.  That’s also not any big news, thought it is amazing news.  Before I had lived a single day, God had a plan for me that included every single moment of every single day of my life.

ImageIt’s a new and amazing idea to recognize that God also saw my unformed substance.  Before I was born, God was aware of which elements and subatomic particles would come together to assemble my little body.  God had all those billions of atoms/molecules/whatever accounted for and assigned to the task of making me, after they were done doing whatever they were doing before they were to become “a Lyndon”.  Before those components became tiny little tooties, they were something else.

I don’t have a clue what the molecular components of my tooties were doing in their pre-tooticular state, but God knows.  He had them all accounted for, and when the roll was called they all came together in my mothers womb for their new duty of cutacular tootification (not quite sure that’s the scientific term for “the molecular assembly of adorable infant feet”).

Just tossing out what I can with the time I have available…and needing to find more work hours in a day.

Until Next Time,

Lyndon “After Harry Bailey, they’re not so cute anymore…” Unger

2 thoughts on “A Tweet of a post on a subject that’s on my mind…

Share your thoughts

