Quick Link – Biblical Lexicogrpahy: What are “signs” and “wonders”?

Now I’m a Bible Geek, and I honestly love biblical lexicography.  You know how some sci-fi geeks are happiest when they’re debating the technical specifications of non-existent technology or which captain of which version of a famous space-faring vessel was the best?

Well, I’m very happy with a Greek/Hebrew lexicon, a long list of verses, and mapping out the semantic range and contextual meaning of biblical terms.  If Frederick William Danker ever called me up and asked me if I wanted to be his partner, I’d tell my family we’ve packing up and moving to St. Louis…which is as likely as me waking up tomorrow and realizing that I’m Stephen Furtick (though the first thing I’d do is probably dig through his iPhone contacts, call TD Jakes, and find out if his fridge is running…).

Tuning back in to 98.7 (sanity FM), I’ve wanted to get away from critiquing side the wild/bizarre/absurd side of the Charismatic Movement and into some positive offering to the conversation: walking through texts of scripture, biblical lexicography, positive instruction on cessationism, etc.

Apparently Fred Butler agreed, since he already beat me to the punch on something I intended to write about.  Over at Hip and Thigh, Fred put up a great post digging through the biblical meaning of the words “sign” and “wonder”, and I highly recommend it!  Fantastic stuff!

I’ll have to be more on the ball so that I don’t get beat to any of the other lexical projects I have in the works!

Until Next Time,

Lyndon “A Marvelous Sign and a Wonder” Unger

3 thoughts on “Quick Link – Biblical Lexicogrpahy: What are “signs” and “wonders”?

  1. Assuming that there was consensus on the unbiblical nature of the truly bizarre manifestations, would you see the teaching of the baptism of the Holy Spirit as a second separate work as an issue where we could simply agree to disagree?

    • I’d suggest not Ed. I’ve written on the baptism of the Holy Spirit here. If the baptism of the Holy Spirit is the baptism into the body of Christ and not a secondary work that is marked by the presence or manifestation of tongues, then we cannot simply agree to disagree.

Share your thoughts

