Bible Bites – Rainbows and the Day of the Lord

Bible Bites TeethHere’s a question for you:  What do rainbows have to do with the end times?

I’ll give you two verses and see if you track with me:

Then God said to Noah and to his sons with him,“Behold, I establish my covenant with you and your offspring after you,and with every living creature that is with you, the birds, the livestock, and every beast of the earth with you, as many as came out of the ark; it is for every beast of the earth.I establish my covenant with you, that never again shall all flesh be cut off by the waters of the flood, and never again shall there be a flood to destroy the earth.” And God said, “This is the sign of the covenant that I make between me and you and every living creature that is with you, for all future generations: I have set my bow in the cloud, and it shall be a sign of the covenant between me and the earth. When I bring clouds over the earth and the bow is seen in the clouds, I will remember my covenant that is between me and you and every living creature of all flesh. And the waters shall never again become a flood to destroy all flesh. When the bow is in the clouds, I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and every living creature of all flesh that is on the earth. – Genesis 9:8-16

This is now the second letter that I am writing to you, beloved. In both of them I am stirring up your sincere mind by way of reminder, that you should remember the predictions of the holy prophets and the commandment of the Lord and Savior through your apostles, knowing this first of all, that scoffers will come in the last days with scoffing, following their own sinful desires. They will say, “Where is the promise of his coming? For ever since the fathers fell asleep, all things are continuing as they were from the beginning of creation.” For they deliberately overlook this fact, that the heavens existed long ago, and the earth was formed out of water and through water by the word of God, and that by means of these the world that then existed was deluged with water and perished. But by the same word the heavens and earth that now exist are stored up for fire, being kept until the day of judgment and destruction of the ungodly. – 2 Peter 3:1-7

Do you see it yet?

No?

Well, the sign of God’s covenant with Noah was God laying down his bow (his ranged hunting weapon) on the earth every time it rains.  Did you ever notice how a rainbow is a bow (as in “bow and arrow” hunting bow), laying on it’s side on the earth, that is made of light refracting through rain drops?  After the flood (you know, where God drowned the whole earth, minus 8 folks and a handful of animals, due to the raging sinfulness of mankind), God took the weapon he used to kill everything and laid it down forever, never to pick it up again.  Every time you see a rainbow, it has two specific meanings:

a.  God judges sin.

b.  God will never judge sin with a flood again.

Along the lines of those thoughts, is it not highly ironic how the official symbol of the homosexual movement is a rainbow?  Is it not simply astonishing how there are parades where people whose lives are defined by their sinful lifestyle march around waving a banner that says “God judges sin”?  Yikes.  Talk about asking for it.

Now consider 2 Peter 3:1-7 and consider the end times connection.

Are homosexual scoffers who follow their own sinful desires?

You’d better believe it.

Do the mock the judgment of God?  What, with waving their rainbows everywhere?

Uh….YES!

Do they forget the flood?

Apparently (and that’s not a wise thing to do).

Instead of storing up treasures in heaven, they’re storing up wrath in heaven (Rom. 2:5) that they’ll get when God picks up a different ranged weapon (fire) and judges the world just like he did before.

Homosexuals all need the gospel, and they need it urgently.

Until Next Time,

Lyndon “I once was lost but now I’m found” Unger

P.S. –

A related side note is how though the homosexuals thumb their nose at God so blatantly, all sinners do it equally.  Every time you know what the Lord requires of you and run off to consciously do something whatever you want, you thumb your nose at God as bad as any gay pride parade.  The only reason you’re not wearing a rainbow cape and leather chaps is because of the grace of God.

Or do you not know that the unrighteous will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived: neither the sexually immoral, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor men who practice homosexuality,nor thieves, nor the greedy, nor drunkards, nor revilers, nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God. And such were some of you. But you were washed, you were sanctified, you were justified in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ and by the Spirit of our God. – 1 Cor 6:9-11

Food for worship.

2 thoughts on “Bible Bites – Rainbows and the Day of the Lord

  1. Thanks for your insights. Your thoughts particularly interested me because I taught adult Sunday school two weeks ago and connected nearly the same verses. I came to a slightly different emphasis. In Genesis 8:21-22, God made a promise about the way He would act. He promised to be long-suffering and patient with sinners. Consequently, annual earth cycles would not be interrupted again, as they seem to have been interrupted during Noah’s year-long boat ride. Patience and long-suffering becomes the canvas that God chooses to act upon. This is the same canvas from God’s character that is emphasized in 2 Pet 3:9, “He is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance.” Mercifully, God’s “bow” of judgement is currently hung in a resting position. I’m so thankful for this! I’ve got a thousand reasons to be thankful. For example, today my 63 year old unsaved dad dodged yet another health bullet and had a successful emergency appendectomy. He was spared from death by God’s mercy. God wants dad to come to Christ.

  2. Have had more symptoms than usual (weather affects them) x Had wanted to reply right away to the RAINBOW blog/mini-Sermon by Mennonite right away!! I’m ashamed to say I did not ”get” it right away, even tho this was one of the key points in my early catholic training that caused me wail literally and argue with the teacher. THE FLOOD. At least unusually for me it was my mom who showed me the text in her catholic bible where God had made the promise to never again send a flood upon the entire Earth. I could have turned into a little unbeliever except for her taking that action so at least I give thanks to Him informing me. The Rainbow = bow = Bow and Arrow x oh it’s one of the most beautiful and true reads I’ve ever experienced. It awed me and placated me and comforted me. Thank you for bringing His Words to my heart, mind and soul. x I am doing something I never thought I’d ever do and also credit this to Mennonite thru God: a non-believer scientist in my group is a “Greenist” and stated to me through a private message because he knows I am a Believer I refuse to hide it ”do you think we believe the same thing, in different manners?” I wrote back: It doesn’t matter what ”we” think in this instance. I will, if you want, extract any passages relating to weather and send them to you, as long as you understand how the illnesses can cause delays” Thank you Mennonite through Dear God in the Name of His Son Our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ. +++

Share your thoughts

