Bible Bites – The timing of delivery…

Bible Bites TeethIn writing about the sovereignty of God the other day, I came across a verse that I didn’t mention in the post:

The voice of the Lord makes the deer give birth
    and strips the forests bare,
    and in his temple all cry, “Glory!” – Psalm 29:9

Given that my wife is now four days overdue with our little one, she is more than ready to deliver our little girl into the world.  Not only that, but when things don’t occur according to our expectations, it’s quite easy to start asking innumerable questions: is something wrong?  Did I do something wrong?  Am I eating too much sodium?  Am I not getting enough sleep?  Should we be walking more?  And the questions go on and on…

…and yet the deer don’t have midwives, doctors, or anxiety about whether their young ones come on a preferred calendar date and God brings their young on time every time.  God’s the one who decides when babies come, and he always brings them at just the right time.  Some days I’m simply shocked at what a fickle and skittish little sinner I am.  I constantly need to be reminded to repent of all this subtle anxiety:

Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble. – Matthew 6:34

Until Next Time,

Lyndon “Hating the Waiting” Unger

P.S. – For all those who were expecting it, I refrained from the clear and obvious puns about the “voice of the Lord makes my dear give birth”, among other things.  That took a lot of self control.  Just saying…

One thought on “Bible Bites – The timing of delivery…

  1. Hello Mennonite and Mrs., my son was going near two weeks overdue and I remember starting to wonder all the understandable thoughts….then the water broke and long story short he arrived. The funniest part was I’d been told ‘oh, you’ll lose alot of weight” and I lost exactly what David weighed and that was IT!!! I was so happy he was fine the rest just seemed a joke. Who Knows, He Knows, already there might be another Baby in the family: correction there IS another Baby in the family, and it’s a matter of timing. Wow it would be great if Baby is here already!!! Blessings to your family +++

Share your thoughts

