Was Jesus a Liberal?

Honestly, I don’t have a clue how some people find my blog and like/link to my posts; I’ve followed some track-backs to people who, if they actually read what I’ve written, would absolutely hate it.  I’ve had link-ins to my cessationism posts from prosperity gospel ministries (?!?).  Is there some sort of automatic “like bot” or “link bot” or something like that which people use to drum up site traffic that I don’t know about?  It seems like it.

So tonight I tracked back someone who recently liked a post of mine and read a blog post that they wrote called Jesus was a Liberal, and he basically seemed to make the worn out and biblically indefensible argument that Jesus was some sort of lightweight rebel who “broke the rules” in a coy sort of way (i.e. Jesus broke the Pharisees’ rules on purpose and was some sort of zen cultural revolutionary).  I’m guessing that if the blogger read some of the contents on this blog, the word “like” wouldn’t come up at all.  So, being the zen cultural revolutionary sort of guy that I am, I interacted a bit with his post.  Here’s my response (that will likely not appear on the blog):

Uh, could you possibly try to back up any of your claims from the Bible itself? I’d argue that the Bible takes pretty strong opposition to your claims about Christ.

Jesus was as black and white as black and white gets.

Jesus didn’t go against “conservativism” or “liberalism”. Those aren’t biblical categories and Jesus would have attacked both as equally false religion. The Pharisees didn’t want to follow the law of God at all; they hated it with every fiber of their being. The Pharisees made all the secondary “clarifying” laws to get around obeying the law of God (You may want to re-read Mark 7:1-13 where Jesus addresses this directly).

Did Jesus toss aside the law of God?

Not for one second.

He perfectly kept the law of God and condemned the Pharisees as not being righteous enough. Take it from Jesus himself:

“Do not think that I have come to abolish the Law or the Prophets; I have not come to abolish them but to fulfill them. For truly, I say to you, until heaven and earth pass away, not an iota, not a dot, will pass from the Law until all is accomplished. Therefore whoever relaxes one of the least of these commandments and teaches others to do the same will be called least in the kingdom of heaven, but whoever does them and teaches them will be called great in the kingdom of heaven. For I tell you, unless your righteousness exceeds that of the scribes and Pharisees, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.” – Matt 5:17-20.

Unless your righteousness what? Exceeds? Exceeds whose righteousness? The Pharisees…

Jesus wasn’t a liberal or a conservative. Jesus was a servant of God who lived to flawlessly obey his word. Jesus valued God’s glory more than anything else and that meant keeping God’s word.

 

Now I don’t normally do this sort of thing, but I wanted to save what I wrote and see if the guy would actually post my comment and respond at all.  And I haven’t blogged anything in a few days and my next post is a few days away, so I was grasping for something to post.

Okay, okay.  I also love getting under the skin of emergent/theological liberal types who think that Jesus was a guru/environmentalist/life coach/spiritualist/hippie/zen/egalitarian/philosopher/rebel who offered forgiveness without repentance and offered grace without demands.

That Jesus is on the History Channel, not in the Bible.

Until Next Time,

Lyndon “Jesus is such a lovable scamp!” Unger

4 thoughts on “Was Jesus a Liberal?

  1. Hello, Mennonite, I’m not feeling so great right now physically x and this post engaged me it’s on ”my level” for me. Could you please let me know what version Bible you prefer to use? I used the KJV at Biblegateway and then the NKJV and neither one gives me the full text thru verse 15. This is a very interesting topic to me and I want to read the source Bible you are using. Thanks, Marie [John 3:1, 2 to you and family ]

    • Hey Marie,

      I think I was using the ESV for my quotations…though I went to http://www.Biblegateway.org and didn’t actually check. It’s either ESV or NIV.

      For personal study, I use either original languages or a combination of ESV and NET. (NET is the New English Translation, which is a little known translation that is “open source”; i.e. not copyrighted and includes a whole ton of helpful translators notes.)

    • Hmmm. I wasn’t really expecting it to get posted. I’ll wait and see if the guy responds. I usually give someone a month to respond, and if they don’t respond in a month I call it a day.

Share your thoughts

