Quick Thoughts on the Importance of Righteous Leadership…

Thinking-ManI’ve been talking to some friends, both old and new, around North America over the last several months and have noticed that one of the consistent problems that my ministry friends face doesn’t come from the congregation, but rather the leadership.  I had coffee 5 months ago with a friend who was in youth ministry and was run out of his church for insane reasons, and as we were weeping together and having coffee, he looked at me through teary eyes and asked “how does this happen?  How does Satan destroy a whole church like this?”

My reply was fairly simply.  I said “all he needs is the wrong guy in the right place; the pulpit”.

My friend then asked me “what should we do?  How do we fight that?”

I answered “Well, all God needs is the right guy in the right place; the pulpit”.

I then shared a passage of scripture with him, reminding him that Satan doesn’t have new tactics because his old ones produce results…and when I mean old, I mean old.  I shared this passage with him:

Micah 3:1-12:

“And I said:
Hear, you heads of Jacob
and rulers of the house of Israel!
Is it not for you to know justice?—
    you who hate the good and love the evil,
who tear the skin from off my people
and their flesh from off their bones,
who eat the flesh of my people,
and flay their skin from off them,
and break their bones in pieces
and chop them up like meat in a pot,
like flesh in a cauldron.

Then they will cry to the Lord,
but he will not answer them;
he will hide his face from them at that time,
because they have made their deeds evil.

Thus says the Lord concerning the prophets
who lead my people astray,
who cry “Peace”
when they have something to eat,
but declare war against him
who puts nothing into their mouths.
Therefore it shall be night to you, without vision,
and darkness to you, without divination.
The sun shall go down on the prophets,
and the day shall be black over them;
the seers shall be disgraced,
and the diviners put to shame;
they shall all cover their lips,
for there is no answer from God.
But as for me, I am filled with power,
with the Spirit of the Lord,
and with justice and might,
to declare to Jacob his transgression
and to Israel his sin.

Hear this, you heads of the house of Jacob
and rulers of the house of Israel,
who detest justice
and make crooked all that is straight,
10 who build Zion with blood
and Jerusalem with iniquity.
11 Its heads give judgment for a bribe;
its priests teach for a price;
its prophets practice divination for money;
yet they lean on the Lord and say,
“Is not the Lord in the midst of us?
No disaster shall come upon us.”
12 Therefore because of you
Zion shall be plowed as a field;
Jerusalem shall become a heap of ruins,
and the mountain of the house a wooded height.”

What was the problem in Israel?

– The leaders who were supposed to care for the sheep ate the sheep (v. 2) and made a stew out of them (v. 3).
– The leaders cried out to the Lord constantly, but he didn’t answer them because of their sin (v.4).
– The leaders worked with lying prophets who praise those who praise them and condemn those who speak out against them, even though their claims to hear from God were lies (v. 5-7)
– The leaders didn’t recognize the true prophet of God who condemned their sinfulness (v. 8)
– The leaders corrupted justice and abused their power (v. 9-10)
– The leaders plied their spiritual deceit for financial gain and thought that their spiritual position made them untouchable (v. 11)
– Israel was destroyed due to the sins of their wicked leaders (v. 12)

Is any of that happening today?

– Do you ever see Christian leaders who are living in habitual sin make foolish decisions and think everything is all right because they prayed beforehand? (see. v. 4)

– Do you ever see Christian leaders love those who love them and condemn those who speak out critically against anything they do? Do you ever see Christian leaders who think they have a direct line to God, and God seems to always confirm whatever ideas they have? (see v. 5-7)

– Do you ever see Christian leaders who are seem to understand the Bible in all areas except the scriptures that contain commands that they’re currently disobeying? (see v. 8)

– Do you ever see Christian leaders who basically use their power only to maintain their power by doing things like covering sin or sweeping controversy and critics out of the church? (see v. 9-10)

– Do you ever wonder how good churches, with good people who seem to love the Lord, end up imploding and closing down?  (see v. 12)

Just some quick encouragement for those of you who are out there trying to get ministry jobs and are getting resistance from denominational power-mongers who fight you because you think the Bible “has the answer to everything”.  Just a quick shot of scripture to those of you who are working at churches where the leadership makes fun of you in staff meetings for daring to question that God has his headquarters in Redding, California or that the Holy Spirit would ever tell a believer to ignore the scripture.  Just a quick reminder to persevere for those of you who have been run out of churches because you had the audacity to think that the gospel involves the bad news of judgment and God’s wrath against sin.

Satan’s read Sun Tzu’s Art of War, and he knows full well that the easiest way to kill and enemy is “in his sleep”.

Keep faithful to the position that the Lord has placed you in.  Submit to those over you (Col. 3:22-24; Eph. 6:5-8; 1 Tim. 6:1-2; Heb. 13:17; 1 Peter 5:5).  Love the sheep that are under you (1 Peter 5:1-4).  Don’t be quarrelsome and pray mercilessly that God would grant powerful fools a return to their senses (2 Tim. 2:22-26; Titus 3:1-3), and “Keep your conduct among the Gentiles honorable, so that when they speak against you as evildoers, they may see your good deeds and glorify God on the day of visitation” (1 Peter 2:12).

If you really believe in the sovereignty of God, don’t treat this time lightly.  Labor now to learn to submit, love, and become the righteous leadership of the future.

Longing for the day,

Lyndon “The Armchair Pastor-in-waiting” Unger

5 thoughts on “Quick Thoughts on the Importance of Righteous Leadership…

  1. Nice read my friend. I’m actually feeling a lot better now that I’ve gotten some well needed rest, and our pastors are probably right, lol, I gotta relax a little man. Anyways, speaking of sleep, I should crash… It’s getting late man, or I guess early! 😉

  2. Mennoknight, The Lord does work in mysterious ways, I was sitting here crying and shaking over what former long-term friend of near five years has done to me long story short he was always trying to ”get somewhere” with me well God does use every single bad thing that happens to our good and I was able to handle the catholic/behaviour conflict easily. My son and setting a good example for him reigned over this man do you understand??? And then I get the gift of reading your friend and you weeping again over more injustice and it comforted me to know i was not the only one. If it means anything to anyone, I hold high the decision of the pope to resign, for he tried with all his power to make the church ”come clean” to no avail and stepped down instead. THAT is faith and conviction. In my opinioin. He did EVERYTHING POSSIBLE TO clean-up the sacrilige and was met with only disdain and disregard by his own. We all pay prices but The Good Lord gives us double for our trouble. Short version. God Bless you and your friend. Marie

  3. “They” say it has been 600 years or more since a pope resigned. I heard today in the past he is accused of protecting a Nazi. I don’t know the facts. I only know we are seeing a vast change occur. This man did not step down out of a need the Vatican is one of the most politically powerful institutions of earth. I believe he felt the conviction of the Holy Spirit and it is on record how hard he tried even prior to becoming pope to lead the church to do what was right in view of all the huge amounts of abuse. +++

    The blows did not stop today. My father passed from seven forms of nuclear cancer none of them related to smoking. He was offered compensation and told of it by outraged military doctors. My father by my brother’s account died largely shriveled and in a diaper. My father refused the offers.

    So, Today I made up my mind: No. Emphatically. I will not accept funds from the “RECCA” act for cases like this: it were his blood not mine. I did not have to suffer as my father did during that long grueling time period. Let the siblings have it all. The only blood I want is the Sanction of The Christ upon my life.

    I discovered thru a search: my sister’s husband died in 2010. Of stomach cancer. Once again she had no choice but to be the caretaker as she was the primary caretaker to our mum. He was an amiable fellow who once called me for advice about what was wrong with my sister.

    I did contact one brother. He accepted me. Though to be honest i am at a point in life where I want The Love of Him and His Father more than any human being.

    Mennoknight: please tell me how you are doing overall. Please. +++ In Christ, marjy

  4. Dear Mr. and Mrs. Mennoknight, I wanted you to know how He can Lift One Up in spite of life circumstances. I ploughed all my grief as He Directs: into showing love to others in any way possible. Amazing Grace. Holy One. Dear God In Your Son’s Name, Blessings to You and Your Father for All Time, Oh Great Alpha and Omega, please bring solace to my enemies and happiness to my friends, Great One Who Created the World Thru The WORD by the Lord Jesus Christ. The One Who Heals and Comforts The One Who Sustains Us. Love, Send. Amen.
    P.S. I cannot resist telling you my last statement to the catholic/conflict relationship was I hoped one day he would be able to read the unedited version of the Bible rather than the version he has been taught. I also stated you and her, she takes her check from the Archdiocese and you have adult children living in your home and are a sunday school teacher for many years and this is the example of Christianity you portray. My being a role model for my son meant ever more than you meant. Blessings to you.

    Later on, I recognized there was a little bit of Mr. Mennoknight in those forthright words. LOL

    PRAISE GOD!!!

  5. I am Jim Jackson Jr. That’s not my real name but I’m the kind of guy who doesn’t use his mouth (or keyboard) for much beyond insulting people and repeating myself ad naseum, so it’s best that people don’t know who I am. Also, I don’t know how to positively discuss things that I disagree with, so I get angry and then do irrational things (like spamming a blog with repeated comments that don’t actually say anything). The comment I’ve previously written has been edited to this one by the blog administrator and, if I decide to actually interact or comment on the topic of a post, I’ll be welcome to come back on here and say whatever I want (including aggressive disagreement). I didn’t think the admin was serious when they warned me about my spamming, but now I’ve learned that they were.

Share your thoughts

