Mid-moving thought…

I’m currently moving, but I had a silly thought that I figured I’d share in lieu of blogging something of any actual significance.

Here’s the thought:

If some Christians believe that we can apparently have Christian Yoga without any problems (i.e. some people think we can just remove the “bad stuff” and Christianize an inherently Hindu spiritual practice), would it be right to suspect that those same Christians would be all right with Bhakti Communion?

Would it be all right for Hindus to take a Christian communion service, with bread and wine/grape juice and the little trays and “do this in remembrance of me” and everything, and simply do it in a Hindu temple without any mention of Christ, placing a wafer and some wine/grape juice in front of idols of Ganesh or Vishnu so that they can partake too?  How do you think the Hindus in that temple would feel, knowing that they’ve simply ripped off a thoroughly Christian practice and tried to Hinduize it?

Just a sleepy thought from a sleepy minded fella who’s working by day and moving by night…but sadly without any super powers.

Until Next Time,

Lyndon “The Armchair Vedic Monk” Unger

 

 

 

Oh, and by “Vedic” I mean “Christian” and by “Monk” I mean “Pastor”

5 thoughts on “Mid-moving thought…

  1. Funny, I’ve had several conversations this week similar to your post. I go back to the old testament and show them how mixing worldviews didn’t work back then either :). Happy moving!

  2. Oh, I was thinking of the early Christians’ appropriation of the pagan winter solstace (which was the birthday of the god Mithras), a popular festival at the time, and replacing it with Christmas. I’m not a scholar of the ancient Near East, but I’m thinking of Rahlf Hansen’s work here, among others. My understanding is that Aurelian decreed December 25th to be a public festival in honor of the Mithras some time in the mid 3rd Century- in order to counteract/appropriate the popularity of this pagan festical, Christians declared December 25th to be their Feast of the Nativity (the Mithras and Christ stories are pretty similar already, so it was evidently an effective technique). This is pretty well-established stuff.

    I suppose the parallel I’m drawing is that these sorts of ‘pagan’ things (like yoga) can be reappropriated for Christian use.

  3. Timely post, I’ve been thinking a bunch about this too.

    1Sam 16:7 holds the principle that it matters more where our heart’s at. I know, I know, this in relation to physical appearance, not practices. But coupled with the principle presented in 1Cor. 8, I think there’s some good argument for Christians to do yoga, given their intentions are to glorify God.

    Side note: I did many stretches during my athletic years that have their root in yoga. I also played the organ, which has its roots in pre-reformation age pagan bar culture. Throwing out a series of stretches just because someone else used them improperly seems like throwing the proverbial baby out with the bathwater to me.

    I haven’t landed on a solid opinion on this yet, so please let me know your thoughts.

Share your thoughts

