Yup. Another Reason Why I Don’t Take Mark Driscoll That Seriously…

….Mark Driscoll.  One guy I don’t write on because, well, I have enough enemies.  I know a lot of people who love him, and good for them.  I don’t love him and I’m not really interested in going off about all the craziness that I see in the whole “Driscollanity” movement.  He’s as theological consistent as an Amish hitman, but he has more than enough critics.  I figure I can leave him be.

But, every now and then he just says things that are ignant.  If you haven’t heard the news, Mark Driscoll basically thinks that cessationists are atheists…well, at least functionally.

I have nothing to say because Frank Turk says it all for me.

Well, I’ll say something.  Exegesis is what makes the difference between personal opinion and biblical conviction.  Mark Driscoll, at least on this issue, has nothing but personal opinion and his personal opinion is both misinformed and mistaken.  Any guy who goes off that bad on a theological or biblical issue reveals how seriously he takes the scriptures.

That’s why I don’t really take, and have never really took, Mark Driscoll seriously.  He is continually writing theological cheques his exegesis cannot cash.

Oh yeah…and Mark Driscoll calls the cessationists worldly?

Mark Driscoll.

Mark Driscoll.

I don’t even know what to say to that.

Until Next Time,

Lyndon “The Street Theologian” Unger

14 thoughts on “Yup. Another Reason Why I Don’t Take Mark Driscoll That Seriously…

  1. Well, after looking at the sermon Mark Driscoll preached that Frank Turk commented on, I have to agree with Mark that Cessationists are boxing God into a “God doesn’t and can’t do those things in this present day” category. I would also say that they are getting close to atheism in the sense that they read the Bible but lack faith in God’s word. (Please understand I didn’t say they were atheist but they are denying God the ability to work miracles, healing, and gifts in today. That in no way improve one’s relationship with Christ and I would go as far as to say that it only hinders. 1 Thessalonians 5:19-20 “Quench not the Spirit. Despise not prophesyings.”)

    My wife has been healed from lifelong Celiac disease by hands on prayer, my father was healed of a brain aneurysm 20 years ago (without surgery) and I’ve seen people delivered of demons.

    John 14:12-13 – “I tell you the truth, anyone who has faith in me will do what I have been doing. He will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father. And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Son may bring glory to the Father.”

    Do not fool yourself, God is the same today, tomorrow, and even 2000 years ago. God does not play favorites with his sons and daughters.

    • I’m a cessationist.

      I have neither theological doubts nor problems with believing that your wife has been healed from lifelong Celiac disease.

      I have neither theological doubts nor problems with believing that your father was healed of a brain aneurysm 20 years ago.

      I have neither theological doubts nor problems with believing that you have seen people delivered of demons.

      I have personally witnessed medically verified (with accompanying x-rays) instantaneous healing of things like broken bones. I have personally interacted with people who, most likely, were demonically possessed. Like all Christians, I have absolutely no objections to the reality of the supernatural.

      Cessationism as I understand and practice it (as well as in the understanding and practice of other intelligent cessationists I know), in no way denies God the ability to work miracles, healing or spiritual gifts today.

      I would guess that you, much like Driscoll, misunderstand just what exactly cessationism is. Would you care to define what you think cessationism is for me?

      • Amen Brother! I am also a Cessationist like B.B Warfield and other Great past Theologians and men of God. I hold a full cessationist view. Cessationism is nothing new. Even Saint Augustine had come to the conclusion that the gifts had ended back then. For those who are ignorant on what cessationism is check this link. http://www.monergism.com/directory/link_category/Spiritual-Gifts/Cessationists-View-Articles/
        Driscoll is a ignorant man, where did he go to seminary anyways? I would ask for my money back. Mark Driscoll should look up the word Montanism. I would suggest everyone to look up the word ” Montanism” it’s a very old heresy.

      • Thanks for your affirmation Joseph.

        When you say “full cessationist”, do you mean there are NO spiritual gifts at all, like Dr. Larry Pettegrew?

        Also, be careful about breaking the rules around here. Saying that Driscoll says ignorant things is different than saying he’s an ignorant man. Eph. 4:29.

      • When I meant by the position i hold full cessationism, I meant, that I don’t believe that there are prophets, healers, tongue speakers, and interpreters gifted men or women that exist in our time. Pardon me for calling Driscoll an ignorant man there are no full ignorant men and that includes men like atheist Christopher hitchens, atheist Sam Harris and so “called christian” Benny hinn just men who say ignorant things. I meant he gives ignorant information. I as a younger guy I find men as driscoll to be dangerous to younger Christians who fall for his “hip” attitude. Church has turned into ” look at us, we are as cool as the world” instead of ” look at us we are different from the world”. I am getting of topic. Anyways yes I do believe the gifts given to individuals like for example speaking in tongues was done at the apostolic time. It was given for a purpose and for a specific people ( those in jerusalem) Joel 2:28, Isaiah 28:11, 1 Corinthians 14:21-22. Tongues, visions, dreams signs and wonders was meant for the “last days” before the destruction of Jerusalem, as a sign of coming judgment upon Jerusalem. Scripture is clear on that. Charismatic men as Driscoll and Piper are emotionally dependent on spiritual experience to guide the masses. They play of emotions when their doctrine is so inconsistent. I came from the Pentecostal movement, most don’t really know the gospel but are emotionally driven instead of biblically.

      • Ah. Just for future clarification then:

        If you say “full cessationism”, in many circles that means “no spiritual gifts at all”. What you’re describing is actually known as partial cessationism; cessation of the apostolic sign gifts (tongues, prophesy, apostolic/mediated healing).

        I have emerged from a Pentecostal church experience as well, and I agree that there’s far to much “being hip” and far too little “being biblical”, and emotions rule the day. Praise the Lord that you’ve discovered the need to be more serious with the scriptures and let the word of God direct your theology and practice.

        I hope you’ve found a solid church in Abbotsford!

      • Well I would lean a little more towards full cessationism for the reason that I believe when someone claims miracles, I become very skeptical and believe that God has used some form of medical way in the healing of diseases as cancer patients. Do I believe miracles still happen? I would say it depends on how a person defines the word miracle. Like a child being born its a miracle in itself, but someone being cured from aids is something else I don’t believe God has chosen to do so anymore in a supernatural way. I heard the difference of cessationism differently from your way. Never heard the term partial cessationism. I heard cessationism discribed in 4 different ways there is Concentric Cessationism, Classical Cessationism, Full Cessationism and Consistent Cessationism.

      • Thanks for the time you to to reply and for the warm welcome! Now got to go, have to get to work. Numbers 6:24 The Lord bless you and keep you; the Lord make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you;
        the Lord lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.
        From Zion URC Ripon Ca
        Joseph

    • By you saying ” don’t fool yourself God is the same Today, Tommorrow and 2000 years ago” what did you mean by that? Are you saying that God has always worked the same way with his children from the beginning of time? You are clearly wrong in the Old Testament God worked different from Christ time and from Christ time he worked different to the Apostolic time and from the Apostolic time he has worked different to our time. If you read scripture we don’t have a temple with an alter with the Arch of the covenant that only Levite Priests can enter and if anyone unclean enters they will be striked dead, do we? Do we have men as Joshua or Moses that God used to part Waters or have manna fall from the sky, do we? How about in Christ time, we don’t have men running around raising the dead, do we? Or how about the Apostolic time. Do we have men as Saint Peter who by his shadow he healed men? How about the as the disciples in the day of Pentecost that spoke in tongues that unbelievers from different nations actually understood? If you noticed God has worked differently through out time, You are right in saying God is the same today, yesterday and forever, but you are wrong on how you apply it. God is the same in his attributes not in the way he has chosen to work through out time. God does not strike men dead as fast as he used to, he has been showing all humanity more grace and how does humanity respond? We all harden our hearts more. Men say there is no God, instead of saying how gracious God is. This shows how depraved men really are. You by Quoting John 14 who was that written to and for? It was for the disciples and men of the Apostolic time. Physical healing is nothing compared to receiving Salvation. Physical healing will always be temporal we all will die out of some form of sickness. But the greatest gift of All is being granted repentance onto eternal life.

  2. Pingback: Mark Driscoll invites John MacArthur over to his conference…kinda… | Watch Your Life and Doctrine Closely...

    • I believe that a full Cessationist holds to the position that all spiritual gifts were temporary where as a partial Cessationist holds to the position that only the sign gifts were temporary. I have only ever encountered one full cessationist.

  3. I attend a United Methodist Church in the West Ohio Conference, and the student pastor of my church attends United Theological Seminary in Dayton, Ohio. The Gospel reading for last Sunday was on John 11 (Jesus raising Lazarus from the dead), and so the sermon was based on this. In the sermon, he mentioned Heidi Baker and that she had increasing connections with his seminary. This disturbed me, so I decided to look it up.
    Sure enough, Heidi Baker is associated with the seminary. (United is one of two United Methodist seminaries in Ohio, so this isn’t some odd seminary. This is a seminary within a mainline denomination). She gave the commencement address there in December of 2013. Her own husband was receiving a doctorate of ministry there. And he wasn’t the only one within the NAR movement. Randy Clark was also receiving a doctorate of ministry, as were lesser known people in their movement.
    Upon further research, I learned that Randy Clark has had a huge impact on the seminary. Along with Heidi, he’s spoken at conferences that were sponsored by the seminary. He has held conferences in which there is a time of “ministry and impartation.” 😦 This is the guy who, when he went to the Toronto Airport Church, he “imparted” the Toronto Blessing to that church….. 😦
    It really disturbs me that these folks are worming their way into mainline denominations now, getting advanced degrees, and influencing fellow students and professors….people who will be in the pulpits of many mainline denominations (not just United Methodist). I really feel like people need to be warned about these folks.
    Here are some of the links that I found that back up what I’m saying:
    http://www.prweb.com/releases/2013/11/prweb11358206.htm
    https://www.facebook.com/unitedts?_fb_noscript=1
    http://notesfromthepastorsoffice.com/tag/united-theological-seminary/
    http://www.linkedin.com/pub/randy-clark/25/38/370
    http://globalawakening.com/home/speakers/randy-clark
    http://www.alabastergroup.com/speakers/rolland-baker
    http://healingcertification.com/2-uncategorised?start=4
    http://www.prweb.com/releases/2013/9/prweb11133708.htm
    Words like “impartation” and “anointed” (the way the hyper-charismatics use it) were never part of United Methodist vocabulary.
    http://www.united.edu/Randy-Clark-Scholars-Presenting-the-Gospel-as-Jesus-Intended-In-Love-Authority-and-Signs-and-Wonders.html
    Not surprisingly, Randy Clark left his mark on United Theological Seminary as well. He apparently founded the above group where people go out and practice signs and wonders 😦
    https://globalawakening.com/news-general/401-dr-randy-clark-and-dr-tom-jones-graduate-from-united-theological-seminary

Share your thoughts

