Wow…Maybe I’m Not Crazy!

Well, this will be a short one.

I’ve been thinking, off and on, about the modern “youth ministry” movement for the last several months or so.  I’ve been growing highly suspicious that what passes for “ministry” in “youth ministry” has nothing to do with “ministry” at all.  Not only that, I’ve come to be quite suspicious of people who are called “pastors” that aren’t expected to be elder qualified, or even competent at the things that “pastors” are supposed to be competent at (basically exegesis, exposition, shepherding and prayer).  I’ve wondered if I was starting to be a little hyper-cynical since I don’t hear too many others voicing the same ideas…

…and then I run into this.  Apparently I’m not the only one at all.  I don’t have Youtube or other streaming video available to me on my laptop (due to my totalitarian settings on NetNanny), but I’ll give it a watch with my wife sometime on her far bigger monitor.  (You know it’s love when the tech geek gets his wife the fancy computer and uses the lemon!  I hope I get a kiss for this!)  If you watch it before me, let me know how it is.  I’m always interested in, or at least entertained or enraged by, Christian documentaries.

Until Next Time,

Lyndon “Not all Youth Pastors are bad!” Unger

3 thoughts on “Wow…Maybe I’m Not Crazy!

  1. You are NOT alone! I’m not sure if you saw Tim Challies review, but you should check it out, along with the comments section. I think we all need to take a review of our youth ministries these days.

  2. I understand the frustration with the current movement in seeker sensitivity aka relevance, to the point that the message of the gospel is so watered down that it’s indiscernable in the pschobabble. Nor does it demand change in the hearer, or even a response. It must “feel good” or else. Bad news for modern man to borrow a title of a now almost forgotten bible for youth in the 60’s.

    But Scott Brown comes from a point of view that I bumped into (hmm I’m from Prince George too) that followed along with the family church model, and the quiverfull movement. I forget the name of the group but they were into the teaching of Rushdoony et al. Christian reconstructionists I think, but they were a bit extreme even in that.

    The results weren’t quite what the video implies. I watched as families who were very strict in this interpretation, lost their teenagers as they left home, some living off welfare rather than going back into that harsh controlling environment. They almost exploded out of that so called church. That church encouraged my friend’s husband in his abusive behaviour as he “led” his home thru violence.

    Of course that isn’t scriptural, nor would the makers of the video being endorsing that but it seems like they are very heavily into the same patriarchal movement. That church counselled my friend to stay, until her husband nearly choked one of their sons to death. Only the intervention of an older son saved him. At that moment my friend woke up, she got out of the marriage, and the church in fairly short order.

    The video clips sound very like the kind of stuff they preached.

    There is a middle ground.

    You can object to the absolutely wrong headed views of modern youth pastoring, without going off into the other direction and having the men so much in charge that they can’t hear wisdom from their wives or listen to their children’s frustrations or serious questions. (which doesn’t seem like that is your style– at all, not meaning to include you in that group), but that is the vibe I get from that video.

    In short, you are not wrong to be feeling upset with the seeker friendly style where the gospel is lost, as we pander to the sinner in his sin. But go too far the other way, and there is a lot of abusive patterns, that give power where God perhaps didn’t intend.

    Yes men should lead their homes, by example, and as Christ leads the church, laying down His life for her. But too often this devolves into demands for absolute submissive obedience and that can drift into a place that makes it impossible for the children to come to the Lord, due to the level of frustration and anger engendered by a controlling abusive father.

Share your thoughts

