Understanding Biblical Repentance…

…is pretty straightforward, though I’ve been working on crafting a simple statement that summarizes it.

I’ve been preparing through the second chapter of Jonah and contemplating how Jonah was repentant.  I’ve mapped out the passage and have been dwelling on it for a few days, trying to word-smith a little.  I’m definitely not a great writer or word-smith, but this is what I’ve come up with:

Biblical Repentance is a divinely performed alignment to God’s perception resulting in a change of passion and practice.

I’m not sure that it’s 100%, but that’s both the statement and framework for the outline of what I’m preaching  tomorrow.  Since I don’t have much time for blogging, I can at least share some thoughts that emerge from my study and hope that they’re edifying to my dozen or so readers.  Here’s the statement torn apart in Jonah 1:17-2:11 –

1.17 – Divinely Performed

2.1-4 – Alignment to God’s perception

2:5-7 – Resulting in a change of passion

2:8-9 – And practice.

If that’s not a token blog post, I don’t know what is.  Sharing my outline from sermon prep…lol.  Well, maybe one day I’ll have enough time to actually write something new and blog-specific.

Until Next Time,

Lyndon “The Armchair Expositor” Unger

2 thoughts on “Understanding Biblical Repentance…

Share your thoughts

