Book Review: “Then Sings My Soul” by Robert J. Morgan

Okay, I’m a curious guy who loves learning things…not things in general but cool or interesting things.  I’m also a pastor, a musician and am love learning about Christianity and all things related.

Robert J. Morgan has written a book that seems written just for me.  If you’re a Christian and love learning, Then Sings My Soul is an absolute necessity.  Mr. Morgan has done a whole load of research and has compiled 1 page explanations of the stories behind 150 common hymns.  If you’ve ever been curious about the situation and setting that produced songs like “Joy to the World” or “Fairest Lord Jesus”, this book is an endless goldmine of information that’s cool, interesting, and even edifying.  It’s hard to ever sing “I will sing of my redeemer” the same ever again, knowing that it was found in the trunk of writer Philip Paul Bliss; a trunk that was recovered from the same train wreck that claimed the lives of Bliss and his wife.

I thoroughly loved this book; my wife and I were sneakily stealing it from each other while I was reading through it for this review!  The writing is clear, concise and touching without being emotionally manipulative.  The sheet music for each hymn is in the book on the left page, the hymn story is on the right page, and there is a full index of title, songwriter and first line; the layout is absolutely wonderful.  Of the 150 hymns in the book, there’s one or two stories that I’m not terribly interested in (as a Canadian, I’m not too interested in the story behind “America, the Beautiful”), but that’s about the only thing I could find that I’d change.  I received this book for free through the booksneeze blogger review program (and was encouraged to honestly review it), but I’ll honestly say that I’m now on the lookout to buy any other similar books by Robert  Morgan!

Highly, HIGHLY, recommended!

Until Next Time,

Lyndon “The Armchair Book Reviewer” Unger

One thought on “Book Review: “Then Sings My Soul” by Robert J. Morgan

Share your thoughts

