Head Heart Hooey!

Without exaggeration, I’ve heard it at least a hundred times.  I used to get it mostly in charismatic circles when I tried to talk about biblical topics with people who were passionate about their extra-scriptural ideas/traditions (i.e. ideas about speaking in tongues, stories about mass resurrections in Africa, etc.), but not so much anymore.  Now I get it from all over when I don’t unconditionally agree with someone who’s excited about something extra-scriptural (or utterly non-scriptural).

You’ve probably heard a variant of the “head knowledge without heart knowledge” line, right?

I’ve never been clear what “heart knowledge” is supposed to be.  The phrase tends to mean different things everytime it’s used.

I do understand conviction though, and I’ve found that the most serious heart-gripping conviction is never removed from truth.  In fact, some of the deepest emotional responses I’ve ever had have come from being passionately gripped with either conviction or implication of biblical truth.  Tonight, as I was preparing a sermon on Colossians 1:15-17, I read this quote from John Eadie, which caused me to stop and spend some time worshipping the Lord in my study:

“ὅς ἐστιν εἰκὼν τοῦ θεοῦ τοῦ ἀοράτου. 2 Cor. iv. 4. The clause dazzles by its brightness, and awes by its mystery.  We feel the warning – “Draw not nigh hither for the place is holy ground.”  One trembles to subject such a declaration to the scrutiny of human reason, and feels as if he were rudely profaning it by the appliances of earthly erudition.  The invisible God how dark and dreadful the impenetrable vail!  Christ His image how perfect in its resemblance, and overpowering in its brilliance! We must worship whilst we construe; and our exegesis must be penetrated by a profound devotion.”

Christ is the one who make visible the invisible God; he’s the exact representation of the God who none has seen nor can ever see.

What an epic thought.

Until Next Time,

Lyndon ” ἀνακαινούμενον εἰς ἐπίγνωσιν κατ᾽ εἰκόνα τοῦ κτίσαντος αὐτόν” (Col. 3:10) Unger

Share your thoughts

