Apparently Good Music Isn’t Enough…

I have someone I know who loves watching Robert Schuller on TV because he’s got good music.  He doesn’t preach the Bible (among other things; if you can find the video where Mark Driscoll spoke there, the opening it hilarious.  “You went to seminary and are still a Christian?  Amazing!”  *Driscoll gives blank stare*), but he’s got good music…like that guy from the Backstreet Boys who put out a worship album and has apparently been a believer since he was 3 years old.  Never understood that one.

But, Schuller’s 55 year run is in serious trouble and coincidentally, he’s got a million dollars of debt for every year they’ve been running.

Dan Phillips has some great thoughts over at Team Pyro on this rather large implosion on the fringes of what passes for Christendom.  Definitely worth the read.

Something newsworthy and of interest for those who are aware of Schuller, or those who have been there and wondered where in the world they got all the money for that stuff.  Apparently, I am not the only one who is suspicious about their extravagant spending.

Until Next Time,

Lyndon “I went to the Crystal Cathedral Bookstore and asked where their apologetics section was” Unger

(No serious.  I did.  The bookstore staff gave me the Most.  Blank.  Stare.  Ever.)

3 thoughts on “Apparently Good Music Isn’t Enough…

  1. It’s sad that people can’t see through these false teacher’s message of health and wealth, that Schuller himself don’t even have it working for him…

    Only you can think of a prank like that at the Crystal cathedral’s bookstore…I would go and ask for their Christian finance section.

    • No kidding. It’s so strange that with health and wealth preachers falling into sin and financial ruin, there’s always 2 more to pick up where 1 used to be. People will follow anyone who coddles their sinful egos.

      As for the bookstore prank, I said I was looking for Cornelius Van Til’s “A Survey of Christian Epistemology”. The bookstore worker looked it up on the computer and couldn’t find it ANYWHERE, and then I asked where their apologetics section was. I got around 15 full seconds of

      *blink* *blink* *blink* *blink* *blink* *blink* *blink* *blink*

      Then I thanked them and told them I’d just go browse for a possibility thinking cookbook.

      You know what was even worse? At Shadow Mountain Community Church in El Cajon, I went into their bookstore and looked at the “M” component of the “Christian Living” shelf:

      Brian MacLaren
      John MacArthur
      Joyce Meyer

      In that order. No kidding.

      I laughed so loud it was quite awkward. Good thing I had my wits about me and dropped a BYU pen at the scene of the crime. CSI Shadow Mountain never connected the outburst with any honorable TMS students.

Share your thoughts

