Some New Context to Brad Jersak and Listening Prayer…

Okay…

I’ve had some communication with a brother in the Lord who tipped me off to start reading through the bibliography of Can You Hear Me and start examining some of the references.  One can tell a lot about a person by who they reference in a work; the books they cite tell you a lot about the content that feeds their thought.  That project is ongoing, though I doubt I will post much if anything about that since I don’t want this blog to turn into a “slam Brad Jersak” fest.

Honestly, I read Jersak’s book and have written on it because I’ve been asked about the subject by dozens of people…probably hundreds to date.  I went to the Bible College where Brad peddled his theological wares and now, years later I see the trail of destroyed lives, confused believers and ruined ministries his ideas leave behind.  I’m unaware of anyone else online who has actually addressed the teachings of Brad Jersak directly, so I have posted what is here.  To date, only 150+ people have searched the subject and found my blog, and I’ve had some positive feedback from those who sought answers and found them…but with 150+ reads, I’m not exactly a threat to Jersak or his ministry.  I’m not really affecting the proliferation of listening prayer seminars or anything.  He likely doesn’t know I exist, and if he does, he certainly doesn’t care.

***

That being said, on page 120 of Can You Hear Me, Jersak writes:

“One afternoon, I was meeting with a handful of other pastors.  One of them, a faith-healing evangelist full of faith and power, came bustling in.  He was energized, if not ecstatic.  Given my state, this was terrible news.  He began ranting about their latest revival meeting where the “fire of God had fallen” on the service.  He raved about how everyone in the meeting with a disease or illness had been healed and how all the demons had been driven out.  His little testimony was fast escalating into a raging revival sermon.  I thought I might die.  I began to plead to the Lord silently, ‘Jesus, please help me not to judge this man.  I really do want you to bless him.  And I want the fire of God in our meetings too.  I long to see people get saved, delivered, and healed.  But Lord, when this guy describes it, he just ties me out.  His package is so totally different than mine.  Are we to be passed by because of that?  I can’t even pray anymore.  All I do is lie by the Ark in that stupid cave day after day. I don’t even know if it’s real any more.’

At that very moment, the raving prophet turned to me and spoke,

I believe the Lord would say to you, ‘There has been a famine of hearing God in the land.  But like Samuel in 1 Samuel chapter 3, you have been willing to remain lying beside the Ark of my covenant.  You’ve made it your resting place. Therefore, you will witness me restore the voice of the Lord to my people.’”

***

Then he gives a footnote for the quote.  If you turn to page 269, the note reads:

“The fellow who shared this with me was Todd Bentley, a flamboyant evangelist with an authentic healing gift.  He’s quite an enigma.”

***

So Jersak, when he was working out his understanding of listening prayer, was hanging around with people like Todd Bentley and refers to him as “quite an enigma”?

Enigma?

Not really.  One only needs to look at some of the facts about Bentley to remove the enigma from him.  After all, he is the:

Todd Bentley, who “stepped down” from ministry due to committing adultery and being an alcoholic.

Todd Bentley, who was courting his second wife (who was then working for his ministry) while married to his first.

Tod Bentley, who married his first wife because God told him to (and then somehow thought God’s direct command no longer counted when he found a looker).

Todd Bentley, whose first wife was is disabled with bone cancer (for over a decade) while he was healing thousands of others. (Didn’t Jersak say that Bentley had an “authentic healing gift”?  Did Jersak ever even meet his wife?  Seriously?)

Todd Bentley, who is notorious for claiming to heal people by kicking them in the face.

Todd Bentley, who is a convicted sex offender.  (Admittedly much younger in his life…but there are several serious questions that it brings up when combined with his documented sexual impropriety)

Todd Bentley, who after doing everything in his power to exemplify that he’s biblically unqualified for ministry, is somehow back in ministry.

Todd Bentley, who married this girl (and seems to think she’s a prophet of God, like Isaiah or Elijah).

Not much of enigma.

Not much of an “authentic healing gift” either.

Todd Bentley is a raging false teacher who has as much to do with Biblical Christianity as the movie Cannonball Run.

Jersak admits in writing that he was associated with, and looked up to, obvious and heinous false teachers.

Jersak hung out with, and learned from, the people who Peter warned the church about in 2 Peter 2:1-19 and who Jude warned the church about in Jude 4-13.  Brad Jersak hung around and learned from people who would have deceived him, not taught him biblical truth.  Sure, Jersak would have been associating with Bentley when he was younger and working out his listening prayer ideas, but Bentley is 34 and started his ministry when he was 22, in late 1998.  Jersak’s book is dated 2003, so they would have been associates 3 years at most before his book was published (assuming Bentley took more than a year to become a faith healing “celebrity” and assuming the book took at least a year for the publishing process).

If a person can hang out with fools and false teachers and come out with biblical theology and biblical practice, in spite of the horrible company that they keep, I don’t know how.  In fact, it’s a biblical principle that one cannot do so:

“Do not be misled: ‘Bad company corrupts good character.'” 1 Corinthians 15:33

The bottom line:  Be suspicious of someone who hangs around with false teachers, and do so for good reason.

Until Next Time,

Lyndon “The Armchair Alarmist” Unger

42 thoughts on “Some New Context to Brad Jersak and Listening Prayer…

  1. Thankyou for the article on Brad Jersak and his partner Todd Bentley. I am absolutely astounded how blind people are, to this kind of false teaching. How I wish this kind of information could be shared with all those who claim to be true Christians. The “hearing” and “seeing” phenomena is becoming worse and worse. I wonder do ‘christians’ read and believe the Bible anymore?

    • Mr. Klassen,

      Thanks for the comment and I’m glad if I could encourage or bless you in any way.

      I fully agree with you that many professing Christians blatantly ignore the content of the teaching of many who are elevated in Christian circles. Judging from the name, I’m guessing you are a Mennonite?

      Would it suprise you to know that Jersak comes from a Mennonite context too?

      The criminal disregard for the word of God is a catatrophe in Canadian Christendom, including those circles that would consider themselves “conservative” and “evangelical”.

      • Thankyou for your reply. For some time I have been wondering where did this “hearing God’s voice” start in Mennonite circles. It is becoming more and more acceptable to not only hear God’s voice, but also have visions of appearances of Jesus. Just yesterday we attended a funeral and the pastor said the 3 years ago the deceased had had a vision in which he saw Jesus, and that helped to confirmed his faith. He heard Jesus say “not yet” – meaning his time to die had not yet come. This is completely contrary to the teaching of the Word of God for New Testament saints.

        Since you have my email address, I would appreciate communicating with you outside of your forum. Would you be willing to do that?

  2. Pingback: B.C. Mennonite Church Allowing Contemplative Spirituality to be Taught « Menno-lite

    • I’d recommend you read my post called “Evaluating Listening Prayer and Brad Jersak”. It’s likely on the side somewhere in my top ten. I walk through his exegetical argument for what he claims his biblical support for listening prayer IS…and I basically show how his biblical argument doesn’t stand up to any scrutiny.

      I could walk through the whole nature of monastic practices, spirituality and whatever else he does, but I figure it’s easiest to simply demolish his main argument and allow the rest of the rubble to fall where it may.

  3. So… how do you heard God then ? What is it like for you, personally? You’ve spent a lot of time and energy attacking Brad Jersak, so if he has it all wrong…what is your take on hearing God? I’m pretty tired of all the hate-sites that go up, with the purpose of discrediting each other’s theology, but have little if NO good news to share with the Church. What’s your message?
    Thanks.

    • Thanks for the comment, Deb.

      I’ll ignore the absurd insinuations that I started this blog as a “hate site” directed towards Brad Jersak…

      Anyway, in response to your question, I would suggest that on this topic, I “hear” the voice of God through God’s revealed word.

      That word has, always and exclusively, come through his prophets.

      That word is written down (inscripturated) in the scriptures, and was done so by his prophets.

      That word is living and active, energized and enlivened by the spirit of God.

      That word tells me how to evaluate and judge other competing words.

      Oh, and also, I’d suggest that saying “watch out for that false teaching that will mislead you” is very good news to many who seek a discerning evaluation about something that they’re being tempted or attacked by.

  4. Actually… I didn’t say anything about you starting this site exclusively as a means to attack Brad Jersak.
    There are many blogs out here where we can read accusations against people and their teachings, and when I read this post.. I found I was reading another one.

    I hear God in the Holy Scriptures as well…. so we have something in common.
    Where we disagree is I see in the written Word, many examples where God has spoken to His people in various ways. I don’t believe that ended-I don’t believe He stopped speaking.

  5. Brad Jersak hung out with someone imperfect? Uh oh. He claims that God speaks? Oh no!
    What you have accomplished in stringing these thoughts together is to create suspicion based on the company he kept.
    Sorry, but i think that sounds like a pharisee, is that not the way they treated Christ himself?
    Did Jesus himself not use mud to restore someone’s sight and offend those who are religious, who are very learned men?
    I really hate that you have devoted a sight to tryng to break down someone’s reputation based on nothing substantial. I have found that I know people who live secret lives all the time. One was super close to me destroyed many people around me through his sin. It was in a conservative Evangelical Church where he ministered for years. Should I now question each person who was in the fellowship of him and teaches?
    Jersak speaks and teaches from a biblical center, and with great reverence, checking what he teaches with the community around him which is rich in mature spirit filled believers who are not enamored with his position or title.reading the book Can You Hear Me? it explains that hearing God’s voice is possible and testable. Firstly, against what he has already said. Secondly with community and thirdly through the Spirit of Truth who resides in each believer in Christ.
    This site serves as a destructive and paranoid look into your world.

    • Well Chad, I appreciate your effort to defend Jersak. You definitely have conviction on this issue.

      I’m wondering if you could rationally defend any of your conviction? Maybe you could explain to me:

      1. How identifying oneself with a demonstrable false teacher adds to one’s credibility.

      (Let’s be clear too: I’m not talking about someone who’s imperfect. I’m not talking about someone who makes a slip of the tongue, or who doesn’t have their theology lined up. I’m talking about Todd Bentley; a career criminal and charlatan whose livelihood involves stealing money from well-intentioned believers under the guise of falsely claiming to be a prophet and healer.)

      2. How Brad claims “God speaks”. Could you explain to me, quoting from Brad’s literature, how he defines the “voice of God”?

      (‘m just wondering if you’re blindly calling names without having actually familiarized yourself with what Jersak has put in print on the subject.)

      3. How Jesus’ healing of and ministering to sinners and receiving false accusations from the pharisees of being a law-breaker is parallel to Brad Jersak’s self identification with false teachers as one of their own?

      (I’m talking about how Jersak identifies himself with Todd Bentley here. I agree that Jesus was falsely accused of looking like a sinner based upon his preferred company. I’d suggest that Jersak is rightly accused of looking like a false teacher based upon his preferred company.).

      4. How the fact that you know hypocrites makes it all right for Jersak to be likewise?

      5. What the “Biblical Center” of Jersak’s teaching is?

      (I’ve interacted at length with his biblical defense of his teaching, and if I’ve missed the boat on it, I’d like to know. Please let me know where I’m incorrect in any of my evaluation of his written defense of his teaching and doctrine.).

      6. Where you get his three-fold test? I’m wondering if you can provide some form of references so we can interact on this topic.

      7. Why I should bother listening to him when his own writing wildly fails the first test?

      (I tested his teaching against what God has already said in the scripture. God’s word informed me that Jersak is neither a prophet of God nor hearing the voice of God. I’d like to be corrected on this if I’m incorrect).

      Thanks for giving me some good fuel for interaction! I look forward to your response.

  6. Its obvious you havent read his book on hearing god then. Sorry, read it and then speak to my points. To say he doesnt start from scripture in his book is an obvious clue that you havent cracked his book open.

    • It’s obvious that all the page references I placed in my review of the book come from NOT reading his book, or even cracking it open?

      Well, no. I have read and interacted with the book “Can you hear me?” at length…hence the citations in my review.

      Beyond that, I didn’t suggest that he doesn’t start from scripture. I have, at length, argued that he violently mishandles scripture.

      Allow me to speak to your main points:

      1. “Jersak speaks and teaches from a biblical center, and with great reverence, checking what he teaches with the community around him which is rich in mature spirit filled believers who are not enamored with his position or title.”

      You don’t check doctrine and teaching against the opinion of the community around you. You check doctrine and teaching against the scripture.

      2. “reading the book Can You Hear Me? it explains that hearing God’s voice is possible and testable. Firstly, against what he has already said. Secondly with community and thirdly through the Spirit of Truth who resides in each believer in Christ.”

      The teaching of the book, in all of its major arguments, fails the first of those tests (testing against what has already been said). Checking his writing against scripture shows a fail across the board.

      You may want to read the article I wrote called “Evaluating Listening Prayer and Brad Jersak”, if you already have not. My main critique is there.

  7. Pingback: Typing with my feet… « Watch Your Life and Doctrine Closely…

    • I agree. Are you suggesting that I did this?

      Maybe the connection was unclear, but I was suggesting that Mr. Jersak looked up to, desired to emulate, and even received confirmational “revelation” from someone who was clearly an obvious false teacher.

      If you learned that a pastor you knew spoke highly and positively about Fred Phelps (you know, the “God hates everyone but me” pastor of Westboro Baptist Church), would that not negatively affect your opinion of the man?

  8. I just returned home from a family camp where Brad was the special speaker. The theme was transformation, wherein he asked us what our perceptions of God are. He set out by asking us to question everything, to not just take him at his word, but to check it against scripture. He wanted to show us, through scripture, that God is exactly like Jesus. A smaller session he ran through the week was a close examination of the beatitudes, a time that was of tremendous value to the people who attended. My overall impression of the guy was that he was unafraid to tell us about his shortcomings; he wasn’t trying to sell himself as perfectly put-together. He was just a guy in need of grace, very approachable and down to earth. I’ve read all the posts you’ve written sir, and the question resounding in my heart is why you’re spending time on writing against (do you also pray against?) Mr. Jersak. There
    are plenty of evil things happening in the world that need to be spoken out against and stood up to; you appear well-read and educated, and very passionate. Brad is a necessary part of the body of Christ, just as you are, just as anyone who’s accepted Jesus. He is your brother. If you feel he is doing a disservice to the body and to God, then I’d encourage you to bring him before the Father daily in prayer, that God would bless him. Revealing a ‘false teacher”, or discrediting a brother just don’t seem to me to be the kind of thngs we should be spending our time on, as they tend to discredit themselves and self-destruct. Please leave Brad to do what God designed him to do and become his prayer partner, praying that his message stays consistent and true to the scriptures. You’re his brother, not his judge. I mean no disrespcet, and I’m not trying to be cheeky. Truly and sincerely, the world system does enough to try to damage the body of Christ that we cannot afford for one part of the body to turn on another. Please consider extending a whole ton of grace to, and praying for those you disagree with. Have a blessed day sir.

    • Thanks for your thoughts Charis.

      I am glad that you heard Mr. Jersak at a camp and I’m glad that he blessed you. What did you learn about the beatitudes that blessed you?

      I’d also encourage you to search the word and evaluate everything by the scripture. Read his book “Can You Hear Me” and read my review. Search the scriptures to see if they say what he claims they say. Don’t be deceived into believing someone’s teaching on the basis of their personality.

      I certainly don’t pray against Mr. Jersak, and I have frequently prayed for him, though admittedly not in a daily fashion. He’s not as high on my radar as you may suspect. I’ve written far more on creationism than I have Brad Jersak, but nobody has accused me of having an unbalanced fascination with that subject. Strange how that is…?!?

      I’ve never doubted that he was a nice guy, and I appreciate the call for grace. If I’m not being gracious, feel free to point me to where and prick my conscience.

      You’re completely correct to say “there are plenty of evil things happening in the world that need to be spoken out against and stood up to”.

      The reasons I have written about listening prayer and review the book “Can You Hear Me” is because, to my knowledge, nobody else anywhere has publically addressed the subject and it was a rather life consuming issue with many people I cared about.

      Proverbs 27:5, 1 Timothy 5:20, 2 Timothy 2:24-26, and Titus 1:9-13 give me good reason to not shy away from publically engaging unbiblical teaching that is offered in a public forum (i.e. published in a book). Praying for someone isn’t the only way to love them.

      • Thanks for responding mr. knight. I really hope I didn’t come across as rude or anything. The only book I’ve read by Brad is “Children can you hear me?”, as I have 3 kids under 8. The book has helped us a lot to explain how we can communicate with God and has expanded my kids’ prayer lives.

        I guess the difficulty that people have, myself included, when we read criticism about someone we respect, is that it feels malicious. I am far from a bible scholar, and there’s so much I don’t know. But I am in the process of growing, and Brad’s message has helped me dig into the Word further to investigate for myself, just as he strongly encouraged us to do. I don’t look to any person as the end-all be all when it comes to what God’s word says. However it is extremely helpful to listen and learn from others. The question for me when it comes to what you’ve had to say about Brad’s perspective is “so what?” , not in a disrespectful way, but really, is Brad’s perspective so damaging that it warrants attacking his character and his associations, past and present? I’ve been deeply wounded in my life by the various approaches the church has used to teach biblical truths, but I can’t justify going on the attack. As much as you say sir, that you are not on a smear campaign, it reads that way. There are a ridiculous number of Christian critics who spend their time tearing down Christian leaders, pastors, teachers, musicians, etc. and it really doesn’t bring anything good to the body of Christ. So why not turn Brad over to Jesus and focus on building others up, or using your considrable knowledge to teach those around you what you know rather than dismantling someone else’s teaching? Fasle teaching, corruption and the like will not stand, it eventually blows up in the person’s face. Leaders/teachers who are in it for themselves, or develop a Messiah complex or something, eventually get taken down hard, and God doesn’t need your help to resolve those matters. All that to say this: you obviously have a passion for the truth, you are obviously knowledgeable, and you obviously care for people. There is definitely a far better, God-glorifying use of your time and effort. I lovingly encourage you, give Brad up and write your own book, or start your own bible study or something else that inspires and builds others up. I’m just one little person, who you don’t know, so you may totally disregard what I have to say and continue speaking out against Brad, or anyone else you disagree with. But I am positive that if you do continue, nothing good will come of it. I would love for your life to bear good fruits.

        In Christ,
        Charis

      • Charis,

        1. I am a pastor. I’m the pastor of Cornerstone Community Church in Vancouver. I work a full time secular job, but I also preach every week, lead a bible study every other Saturday and am actively involved in community outreach and evangelism. I say all that to infer that I spend a vast majority of my week without Brad Jersak coming to mind.

        Nobody in my church has ever even heard of Brad Jersak; I don’t talk about him. I have plenty of other things on my list of things to do that are far more interesting or exciting. My initial critical review of “Can You Hear Me” was for the sake of several friends and has served to benefit and edify as many as it has offended. I regret that you’re of the latter and not the former.

        2. You don’t need to go on the attack since it’s not your job to teach sound doctrine and refute those who oppose it; that’s the command that has given to the elders of his church. Passages like 2 Timothy 2:24-26, 2 Timothy 4:1-5 and Titus 1:9-13 command the eldership of the church to engage false doctrine, and passages like Galatians 2:11-14 and 1 Timothy 5:20 give strong precedent for the eldership of the church to publically engage public sin/false teaching by people who are in, or claim to be in, leadership in the church. I’m an elder of Christ’s church, hence I sometimes “go on the attack”.

        I engage false teaching because Jesus commands me to and I want to obey him, because I love the truth of God’s word and get defensive when it’s attacked, because it directly impacts those around me (which also directs which false teachings I engage), and because I care about those people who are deceived.

        3. You may not like the fact that I take a critical eye to someone you like, and that’s allowed. I feel quite protective of people that I like as well, and will more often than not find my heart leaping to their defense before I evaluate what’s being said. It’s easy to confuse a rebuttal or rebuke with a personal attack.

        4. You admit that you haven’t read Mr. Jersak’s book, so I’d encourage you to. Then read my review and check the page numbers and bible references. Look at what Mr. Jersak claims the Bible to say and mean, and then look at my responses to him. Evaluate what is said by both and ask hard questions: What’s the context of this passage? What is the speaker talking about (i.e. subject matter)? What is the flow of the passage? Does this passage teach what Mr. Jersak says it does and if so, why?

        I’m highly unconcerned whether or not you agree with me. I’m highly concerned whether or not you properly understand and obey the scriptures.

        5. In many circles, simply disagreeing reads like “a smear campaign”. I’d suggest that a smear campaign means actually insulting someone, or telling lies about them. If you could demonstrate where I’ve either insulted or lied about Mr. Jersak, then I’d gladly give you an ear and make necessary changes/edits.

        6. If false teaching and corruption don’t stand and eventually blow up, can you please explain to me how the exact opposite happened with the Millerites, Seventh Day Adventists, Mormons and Jehovah’s Witnesses? All of those movements started out in Christian churches and became major cults. At what point does a false doctrine become significant enough to address? When 10 believe it or 10 million?

        7. My next major post that I’m working on is a critical review of Phyllis Tickle’s book “The Great Emergence”. I’m guessing that it will be far more offensive than my review of “Can You Hear Me”, mostly because Tickle wages such an open attack on Jesus Christ and the Scriptures. Do you have any advice for me regarding engaging a major thinker of the emergent church movement?

  9. Like I said sir, I’m just one little person who doesn’t really matter. I don’t run a major ministry, and I really don’t know enough about what the bible says. My initial comment and subsequent responses have been heart responses, and I truly never meant to offend you. I guess I’m completely missing the point you’re making about Brad’s teaching being dangerous or false; what I have checked out so far makes sense to me. I obviously can’t compete with your bible knowledge, I havn’t been trying to. You won’t hear from me again, sorry I bothered or upset you. God Bless.

    • Charis,

      Don’t apologize! I wasn’t offended and I wasn’t taking a swing at you, or at least I wasn’t meaning to (in case it sounded that way for some reason).

      I’m glad that you have checked out some of Brad’s teaching. That’s a good thing, and it God definitely commands you to not simply believe anything that someone tells you to believe. I’m glad that you’re attempting to correct what you perceive as wrong or “unchristian” in me, and I wholeheartedly applaud your intent.

      I don’t want to have a “bible sword fight” with you, but I DO want to sit under scripture, thinking God’s thoughts and believing his beliefs. IF there is something in me or my thinking that is biblically out of line, I do actually desire to know.

      Just one more thing. When I interact with people, I use numbers to clarify points and give some structure to what I’m saying. That may seem like something that comes across as antagonistic or combative, but it’s not meant to be. I want to interact with others who come here and make comments, and I find that listing helps give some specificity to points that are made.

      Maybe that is what made you think I was hurt or something. I definitely wasn’t. You’re welcome to come back anytime and engage anything anyone says here.

  10. I attended the same camp and listened to the same speaker. My gut and heart reaction to the things I was hearing was much different although we enjoyed the week on a whole. I found his scripture use was sloppy at best and often replaced scripture teaching with quotes from mystics and personal stories. The Bible was not the focus. He told us to “Assume” a lot of things that were plainly unbiblical and certainly could not be assumed at face value without any attempt at scripture to back them up. There was a lot of basics that I suspect he purposefully left out of his “redemption” stories…like salvation or the need for it. Maybe he just forgot…I’ll give him that. He mocked things like “doctrine” and traditional theology. He repeatedly blurred the line between believers and non believer. He redefined the gospel of the cross of Christ by making a mockery of substitutiary atonement and some of the attributes of God (wrath and judgement) changing it just enough to sound ridiculous and obviously false and then offered an equally ridiculous replacement while the true gospel remained painfully untouched. The cross was essentially removed because we all have God’s favor…Jesus only came to make us better people and to give us an upgraded image of God (because God has an identity crises I suppose). It was all so very subtle though and every once in a while would say something true. Everything was coated in feel good rhetoric. It seems he knows how to take people along with him without anyone realizing where they’re going. He danced along the line so skillfully and made sure to warn us that he might not know what he’s talking about so as to appear humble although hard to take seriously. The best thing he told us was to weigh what he says. I did. It was an awkward week and a week that made me slightly sad that even nice guys can be passing off baloney as truth and leading people down a pleasantly dangerous path. People are looking for feel good messages whether they are grounded in reality or not. Oprah would have loved it. I sat and listened with my Bible open, my spirit praying, with discernment, and trying to have an open mind….I left with a sick feeling in my stomach each evening and a Spirit grieving within me. I’m ok with differing worship styles or small doctrinal non agreements…but when people mess with the character of God, Scripture, the purpose of Jesus, or the Cross of Christ my red flags go up. It seemed like a lot of people were very touched by his speaking I just felt malnourished. He seemed like a nice friendly fellow which has nothing to do with testing the credibility of his teaching.

    • Thanks for your thoughts, Carla. I’d love to get a copy of that message, but I’m guessing that it wasn’t recorded or anything. Besides, enough people somehow think that I have a personal vendetta against him and I don’t need to focus any more of my time on Mr. Jersak.

      I’ve noticed many of the same confusions about gospel issues in his writing. I definitely agree that he often speaks of unbelievers and believers in similar ways and seems to blur lines.

  11. Carla, its interesting that you had such a different experience with the same speaker. From my experience this isn’t how I know Brad to speak. You may not like a lot of things about a speaker, but there seems to be some major discrepancies, like there was two different speakers. Brad has devoted his life to studying scripture, has a mind like a vault in terms of knowing theology, can quote classic writers verbatem and speaks candidly about his faults as well as encourages others to be their own investigators.

  12. Brad Jersak and Listening Prayer Community do not represent the true biblical basis of “listening prayer”. They have taken their name and title from a ministry who does seek to represent and teach the true Biblical basis of “listening prayer”. It is true, they have hurt many people and have mis-represented themselves and “listening prayer”.

    • Hmmm. I know that several people have written books on listening prayer, but I’ve never heard the idea that Jersak has hijacked the concept or the terminology.

      So who is the main “authentic” proponent? Seth Barnes? Leanne Payne? Loren Cunningham? Ted & Isaiah Kallman? Benedict Groeschel? Mary Ruth Swope?

      Also, what is the legitimate biblical basis for it or, where can I find it?

  13. “If your brother or sister sins, go and point out their fault, just between the two of you. If they listen to you, you have won them over. But if they will not listen, take one or two others along, so that ‘every matter may be established by the testimony of two or three witnesses.’ If they still refuse to listen, tell it to the church; and if they refuse to listen even to the church, treat them as you would a pagan or a tax collector.”

      • It crossed my mind. He is a brother, if you go to him with concerns, without trying to trap but truly seek understanding and correct if wrong, I think that is good. If I was a teacher and in error, I would prefer those that thought so to come straight to me.

        • I both hear you and feel what you’re saying. I would refer you to my open letter to him where I explain that not every issue of sin (i.e. public false teaching) falls under the scopte of Matthew 18. In that letter, I present what I find to be biblical precedent for public rebuke. Feel free to examine that letter and let me know if you think I’m off base.

  14. Thank you for speaking out against this false teaching. I have personally witnessed he devastation that comes from this kind of practice. Brad Jersak is now featured in a documentary “Hellbound” where he expounds on his theology that hell is merely the Valley of Hinnom in Israel and that all people, Hitler included, will likely get to heaven as our God is a good God. When we step off of the word of God, no matter how well intended, it will always lead us further away.

    • Hang on…if reading this blog is a waste of time, what does that say about the guy who comes here and comments twice in 2 minutes?

      You might want to do something more spiritually productive with your computer.

      Try Minecraft.

      This is also your last warning.

  15. Pingback: A Charismatic Primer Part 1- The New Apostolic Reformation | Watch Your Life and Doctrine Closely...

  16. if God can use a donkey then why not Todd Bentley? Seriously though they are polar opposites on the spectrum of Christian beliefs so I think you might be over reacting on this one.

    • God most assuredly did use Todd Bentley. The question is “for what?”

      They’re hardly polar opposites. They hung out in the same circles and did ministry among the same group of people. They both were Charismatics who claimed to have healing/miracle working ministries. They both claimed to be prophets. They both held to all the basic beliefs of the PAOC.

      A polar opposite to Todd Bentley would be Albert Mohler. Jersak isn’t anywhere near Mohler…in fact, Jersak has more theologically in common with Anjem Choudary than Albert Mohler.

      Beyond that, what was the claim I made that is over-reaching?

      The claim that they were associates?

      The claim that Jersak learned from Bentley?

      I didn’t make any broad sweeping claims other than a surface association and influence…unless I misunderstood my own writing.

      Did I?

        • Jim, here’s an idea.

          I have an opening on Wednesday nights in my counseling schedule. Call Abbotsford Evangelical Free Church to book some time with me and we can maybe work together to sort through whatever is going on that has made you so angry and obsessed with me. I’ll drive out to Langley, or wherever it is you are.

          I’d love to make myself available to help you, however you need it.

          I’ll even pick up the bill for coffee/desert/whatever.

          Let me know if you want to meet and I’ll show up in good faith.

Share your thoughts

