Translating and Weeping…

So, I remember being given some important advice when I finished up my final Hebrew course at seminary.

“Translate a verse or two a day”

Sadly, I didn’t do that in my final year as I was slightly over-worked and didn’t think I could make time for hammering out some Hebrew translation, even a verse or two, every day.

So I pulled out Garrett, Ross, Holladay, my BHS and Putnam.  I started out working on translating Joel chapter one.  Some 45 minutes later, I did two verses.

Outside of retaining vocab, grammar and syntax, when it comes to Hebrew, my mind is a steel trap!

*facepalm*

“Do not speak to a fool, for he will scorn the wisdom of your words.” – Proverbs 23:9.

“The sluggard craves and gets nothing, but the desires of the diligent are fully satisfied.” – Probverbs 13:4.

Take a lesson from the fool…namely, me.

If God has ever shown you the grace to learn your biblical languages, don’t lose your languages.  Keep on fighting against the sloth.

Until Next Time,

Lyndon “The Armchair עָצֵל ” Unger

Share your thoughts

