I just cannot figure this out…

Okay, I follow AOmin a bit and usually agree with many things that I find there, though I saw this post with this link today, which then referred me to this other story, and I was caught wondering “why is this shocking at all?”  I know everyone gets all upset at people in public universities being given a hard time for being Christians, but I simply don’t understand why it’s suprising that a Christian would go to a secular university, enter a field like psychology and counseling, and then make a fuss when the inevitable conflict of value systems steamrolls them.

Why one would be surprised when the university, which generally speaking wages war on truth and any sort of biblically consistent worldview, acts like a university?  I hate to disagree with AOMin, but I would suggest that the students who were kicked out of their graduate programs for attempting to uphold their Christian worldview should stop complaining about their injustice.  The culture is wicked, sure.  Judges corrupt justice in our wicked culture, agreed.

I just don’t get how people who go to a university that openly rejects Christianity think they can complain when they, along with their Christianity, are rejected.  Shouldn’t they see that coming a mile away?

I get that it’s laughably intolerant of those who espouse tolerance to be so intolerant.

I get that it’s an actual injustice to discriminate based on religious views.

But if I go to University of (insert name) though and attempt to operate against their ruling paradigm, I would think that I have two options:

1.  Shut up, assume the worldview for the purpose of getting the degree, and get out.  Then, once you’ve got the piece of paper, you can start incorporating your worldview into your work.

2.  Leave and go somewhere that will allow you to hold to your beliefs.  Go to a Christian school!

I don’t think “remain, be vocal, fight the institution and then sue when they inevitably win” is a real option.

I mean, Bible Colleges everywhere expel people who don’t uphold Christian beliefs.  Go to Podunk Bible College, go to a bar, get high and plastered, get your nose broken in a bar fight, get caught sneaking back into the dorm and get expelled.  I’ve seen that dozens of times and nobody gives an ounce of sympathy when the offender cries foul.  They almost always signed a behaviour contract when they entered and knew explicitly what the rules of the game were.  Why should it be any different when the tables are turned?

Any thoughts?

Until Next Time,

Lyndon “The Armchair Counselor” Unger

2 thoughts on “I just cannot figure this out…

  1. 19 For though I be free from all men, yet have I made myself servant unto all, that I might gain the more.
    20 And unto the Jews I became as a Jew, that I might gain the Jews; to them that are under the law, as under the law, that I might gain them that are under the law;
    21 To them that are without law, as without law, (being not without law to God, but under the law to Christ,) that I might gain them that are without law.
    22 To the weak became I as weak, that I might gain the weak: I am made all things to all men, that I might by all means save some.
    23 And this I do for the gospel’s sake, that I might be partaker thereof with you.

Share your thoughts

