Quick Thoughts – Tongues as Ecstatic Speech

Thinking-Man

Here’s a thought I had this morning while feeding my toddler oatmeal.

If tongues is ecstatic speech, then why isn’t this a book about a man with the gift of tongues?

Image

I know people would say it isn’t, but how could they say that tongues is ecstatic speech but only certain kinds of ecstatic speech?  Where do you draw any lines?

Just a little tongues-in-cheek thought.

Until Next Time,

Lyndon “Mr. Brown” Unger

P.S. – This might be the gift of Parbar.  I’m not sure, but I’ll look into it.

4 thoughts on “Quick Thoughts – Tongues as Ecstatic Speech

  1. I believe that Charismatics often quotes a portion 1 Corinthians 13:1, “If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels…” to support the notion that speaking in tongues is an ecstatic babbling private prayer language.

    • Yup. I’ve heard that a few dozen times. It’s funny though how the passage says:

      “(1) If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. (2) And if I have prophetic powers, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. (3) If I give away all I have, and if I deliver up my body to be burned, but have not love, I gain nothing.” – 1 Cor. 13:1-3

      Many people claim that verse 1 is prescriptive, but then inconsistently claim that verses 2 and 3 are some figures of speech.

      I’ve never heard any charismatic/continuationist pursue the virtue of understanding all mysteries and all knowledge, of having faith that can actually relocate a mountain, or giving away everything and committing suicide on a bonfire.

Share your thoughts

